Key Stages of Learning

2019-06-20 - Website Page Headers - National Curriculum

What are 'Key Stages’?

The English National Curriculum is divided into five Key Stages that children are taken through during their school life.
Targets defined in the National Curriculum are assessed at the end of each Key Stage.
At Magna Academy, we teach at:
Key Stage 3 for Years 7, 8 and 9
Key Stage 4 for Years 10 and 11
Key Stage 5 for Years 12 and 13
Science Lesson 2018

Image: Science lesson at Magna with Miss Poulton, 2018

The term Key Stages was first used in the 1988 Education Reform Act to accompany the introduction of the first UK National Curriculum. The precise definition of each of the Key Stages is age-related, incorporating all pupils of a particular age at the beginning of each academic year.