For students to thrive in an increasingly complex and diverse world, they require the confidence, knowledge and skills to make effective decisions about their lives independently. An effective personal development curriculum will allow our students to develop the attributes they need to stay healthy, be safe, prepare them for life and work as citizens in modern day Britain and help them to develop questioning minds and to challenge injustice.

The aims of the personal development curriculum are to educate our students in:

Click here to view the Year 7 to Year 13 Personal Development Curriculum Overview.
Objectives labelled with a * are DfE statutory objectives.

In each unit, students will cover six personal development objectives each year.

Each student will receive five 50 minutes tutor periods of personal development time per six week unit. The sessions will be delivered by tutors and, when necessary, by working with external organisations to enhance the delivery of these subjects by bringing in specialist knowledge.

Students will have access to a workbook per unit to help aid self-reflection and confidence, deepen their understanding and apply new concepts. At the end of each unit, tutor groups will experience a group-quizzing activity to cement their understanding. Families will be informed of the new topics and objectives that are due to be covered in each unit.

We recognise that it is essential that the personal development curriculum must be accessible for all students. This is particularly important for when we are planning for and teaching students with special educational needs and disabilities who represent a large minority of students.

We make sure that our high quality teaching is differentiated and personalised which will be the starting point to ensure accessibility. We are mindful that some students are more vulnerable to exploitation, bullying and other issues and as a result many curriculum objectives can be particularly important subjects for some students; for example those with social, emotional and mental health needs.

In our delivery, we ensure that we comply with the relevant provisions of the Equality Act 2010. Under the Equality Act, there are nine protected characteristics that we take into consideration when planning and delivering our curriculum so that the topics and content that are appropriately handled and accessed.

The nine protected characteristics are:

  • age
  • disability
  • gender reassignment
  • marriage and civil partnership
  • pregnancy and maternity
  • race, religion or belief
  • sex and sexual orientation

Provisions within the Equality Act allow us to take positive action, where it can be shown that it is proportionate, to deal with particular disadvantages affecting one group because of a protected characteristic. We will, where appropriate or necessary, put in place additional support for students with particular protected characteristics to ensure accessibility of the curriculum.



Where next


At Magna Academy, we want to ensure students get the opportunity to experience the fascinating world of STEM within and outside regular academic study. Through a…


This site uses cookies